G.Y.E PRESENTS TOSIN OKI-‘FOR ME MUSIC HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY LOVE,NOTHING ELSE’

TOSIN OKI

Born on the 22nd of March 1991,Tosyn found music at the age of 11. He used to sing harmonies along with songs of his favourite artists such as Usher,Michael Jackson,Aaliyah,Evanescence,etc.Tosyn is not only an artiste but also a Law student at the prestigious University of Bristol,having had the chance to speak and exchange tweets with Tosin numerous times, we at GidiNoize can confidently say that Tosin is a very humble,down to earth,intelligent and talented individual.We are GidiNoize were privileged to interview the man himself.

GidiNoize Interviews Tosin Oki.

1.WHO IS TOSIN OKI?
Tosyn is that young, music addict from Gidi with a crazy sense of humour(I love laughing.lol).He’s a law student singer,songwriter and lover of fashion.

2.CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND(EDUCATIONAL,FAMILY)?

I was born and bred in Lagos with my younger brother by Mr and Mrs. Oki.We are Lagosians to the core.I attended Childville school and Straitgate school for primary education,then Supreme Education Foundation High School(pardon the long name of the school) for secondary education.I am currently studying Law in the University of Bristol.I love Jesus with all my heart,He’s too much.

3.WHEN DID YOU REALIZE MUSIC WAS YOUR CALLING?

I found music at the age of 11 singing secretly to myself lol.I would sing harmonies along with artistes such as Evanescence,Usher,Aaliyah etc  while listening to them even though some of the harmonies were off,lool.Then I took it seriously when I got to college after my friends especially Jazz discovered I could sing.I started honing my vocal skills since then.

4.WHAT GENRE ARE YOU INTO AND WHY?
Basically, Tosyn is into R&B,Pop and Gospel of course but I occasionally sing barbershop songs after I joined the group in Bristol.Its a group of four singers singing harmonies acapella.

5.HOW DO YOU MANAGE YOUR STUDIES & MUSICAL CAREER TOGETHER?
It is really difficult because there are times I know I have to study but I get tempted to sing or play the piano.Its time management am working on to balance both with the grace of God.

6.BEING A YOUNG ARTISTE COMES WITH A LOT OF CRITICISM AND DISAPPROVAL ESPECIALLY FROM PARENTS ,HOW DO YOU COPE WITH THAT?

Well,my parents support my music as a hobby which is reasonable but I would appreciate a little more serious support from them though.I still love them to bits.

7.WE UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE PERFORMED AT A COUPLE OF SHOWS CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT THEM?

I have performed at open mics,Balls,charity shows etc with my guitar player,Anthony and it feels good having a constant audience listen to you when performing and enjoying it.There was a time I performed a cover called Home by Michael Buble and an old lady shed some tears.


8.WHAT HAS BEEN THE GREATEST MOMENT OF YOUR MUSICAL CAREER?

I am still waiting patiently for that moment😀

9.OUTSIDE THE MUSIC SCENE WHO IS TOSIN OKI?
Tosyn is that law student always reading those thick,mean textbooks.

10.ARE YOU SINGLE?LOL
Naa,am going out with my piano😀

11.APART FROM MUSIC DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST?
For me,music has always been my love.Nothing else.

12.DO YOU INTEND ON GOING INTO MUSIC FULL TIME?
Yes ooooo.

13.WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE NEXT 10 YEARS?

Where God wants me to be,hopefully an established artist with my wife and kids.

14.THERE ARE A COUPLE OF YOUNG ARTISTES IN THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY,WHAT MAKES YOU STAND OUT?

I believe my sound is unique and that is what makes me stand out.

15. GROWING UP,WHO WERE YOUR MUSICAL INFLUENCES?

So many people inspire me but the most important that inpire me vocally are Michael Jackson(his voice is from another planet),Sam Cooke,Stevie Wonder,Donny Hathaway,Beyonce,Wande Coal.Lyrically will be, Lauryn Hill,James Fauntleroy,Lady Gaga,Asa.They are too many sef.lol


16. WHAT DO YOU THINK THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY IS LACKING AND CAN FILL THE VOID?

I think it just needs more time to grow because it is already developing fast.Just a little more time.

17.DO YOU WRITE YOUR OWN SONGS?

Yes boss.

18WHATS THE INSPIRATION BEHIND YOUR SONGS?

My personal experiences and thoughts,and those of the people around me.God inspires me to praise Him also.


19. IS THERE AN ALBUM OR MIXTAPE IN THE WORKS AND WHEN CAN WE EXPECT IT TO DROP?

Well,I have not made up my mind yet but I will keep you guys posted for sure

20. WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER UPCOMING ARTISTES?

Chase your dream,work hard and rely on God.If it is God’s will it will happen.


21.ANY LAST WORDS FOR YOUR FANS?

I really appreciate the support from my fans so much and Tosyn promises not to let you down.I also thank the haters for motivating me,you guys are the best.

Listen to Tosin’s music here

1 Comment

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by GidiNoize: https://gidinoize.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/g-y-e-presents-tosin-oki-for-me-music-has-always-been-my-lovenothing-else/ http://fb.me/4WlgCsr


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

