G.Y.E PRESENTS FUNFERE KENIYE KOROYE.”I AM A DESIGNER BY BIRTH AND AN ENGINEER BY NATURE”

Funfere Keniye Koroye

Funfere Keniye Koroye is one young man who stands out in the crowd,he stands out not only for his impeccable style or his mind blowing designs but also for his intellects.Funfere who is currently a second year student of  Industrial Engineering at Savannah College of Arts & Design, is not just an ordinary student but one thats on the Deans list.Funfere is definately a force to reckon with and we at GidiNoize were privileged to have an interview with this talented chap.

GidiNoize Interviews Funfere Keniye Koroye.

1.WHO IS FUNFERE KOROYE?

Funfere koroye is the definition of “cool” lol, even though that word is used in a very uneducated way but for real though I am who you want me to be; I am a lover and a hater, a cynic and a romantic. I am a designer by birth and an engineer by nature. I say a lot and too little, yeah I know I am a parody of myself and that’s what makes me wake up to this hard knock life we live in. Don’t go to bed without being all of you in everyday of your life.

2.CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND(EDUCATIONAL,FAMILY)?

Well I have been to so many schools, damn, seat of wisdom, genesis, Christ the redeemers college, trinity international college, British international school, academy of art San Francisco and now Savannah college of art and design. Not sure why I have switched so many times but I always had a reason. I used to live in Maryland in Lagos then moved to Lekki phase 1. I am the only son of my father (unfortunately) and I have three sisters who I kind of like, joking, love them to death. I grew up in humble beginnings, my father Mr. Koroye works in a bank and my mom Mrs. Koroye builds and sells houses formerly a fashion designer until Nigerians messed that up by not buying local. They have always supported me and I thank them for that.

3.WHEN DID YOU REALIZE YOU HAD A KNACK FOR FASHION?

As a kid I always picked my outfit, when most people left it up to their mums and ended up looking a hot mess. I had phases from the army man camouflage look to the church boy waistcoat and suit look. Yes I played dress up in my own way. People around me always asked where I got my clothes or told me how they wanted it. I never took it as stylish, I just did what I felt and some liked it, pretty sure some hated it too.



4.WHAT IS YOUR STYLE?

My style is too many things combined, I do as I please, and I can be preppy today and sporty tomorrow. The weather prescribed me my medication to my dedication for style. Don’t step out of the house and tell yourself you didn’t have enough time to think about what you wore because that shows a lack of responsibility. I don’t always wear a tie but I look presentable. Sometimes I dress as I feel; I wear dark colors if I feel down and bright colors to show I am happy.

6.DOES YOUR STYLE REFLECT YOUR PERSONALITY,IF SO,HOW?

Well I wouldn’t say my style reflects my personality, I have been asked if I am in a marching band but I say no and people wonder why I wear band jackets. I wear what I want so I guess my personality is outgoing and unpredictable. On second thoughts my style represents my fluidity and dynamism.


7.WHATS THE INSPIRATION BEHIND YOUR STYLE?

Inspiration is too vast to pin point. I have always admired Michael Jackson, Pharrell Williams, Jimi Hendrix and Outkast. I love people with personality and flare. I don’t mean wear a chicken as a hat and expect my adoration but don’t follow trends and you will be you. I also draw inspiration from surroundings, in California I got introduced to skinny jeans and the scarves and in London the graphic tees and skinny ties. I look around and inspiration is always in plain sight.

8.CAN YOU LIST A COUPLE OF CELEBS IN GIDI AND BEYOND WHO’S STYLES APPEAL TO YOU?

This is tough, in Lagos I never actually see anyone in the entertainment industry that inspire me. I mean M.I., Naeto C and 2face idibia are decent in their style but they are fairly new to what I consider stylish in Lagos, actually I like Denrele Edun’s bravery but not all of what he wears haha. As mentioned before I like the Pharrell Williams, Jimi Hendrix and Outkast with the addition Justin Timberlake, The Dream, Jeremih, Kanye West and Jean Paul Gautier. Honestly most stylish just have money and no real sense of style.


9.WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE STORES?

When it comes to stores I don’t do expensive (for the most part)

· Topshop

· Next

· Gap

· Footlocker

· Primark

· Rue 21

· Gucci

· Nike

· Etsy.com

· Oki-ni.com

· Louis Vuitton

· Urban outfitters

· Marc Jacobs

· H&M

· Express men

· Ed hardy

Kid robot

· Bape

· Stussy

· Kaws

· Hot topic


10.WHO ARE YOUR FAVORITE DESIGNERS?

I am not all about brands, I also know my designers, to name a few

· Calvin Klein

· Anne Klein

· Marc Jacobs

· Donatella Versace

· Oscar de la Renta

· Kanye west

· Tom ford

· Ben Sherman

· Henry Lau (spy)

· Dolce and Gabbanna

· Guccio Gucci

· Jean Paul Gautier

· Deola Sagoe

· Tare koroye

· Tiffany amber

· Joan Okorodudu

· Zizi


11.OUTSIDE THE FASHION/STYLE SCENE, WHO IS FUNFERE?

Outside of style I am an industrial designer; I am sure you are making up definitions that don’t apply to what it really means. I design and make everything, yes everything. I design and make toys, phones, cars, boats, planes, cutlery, furniture interiors, alternative energy and even pens. I love what I do as an innovator and it gives me a chance to incorporate style into the ugly beasts that engineers come up with (sorry engineers). I am going strong for two years, hope to start my own design consultancy and energy logistics company in Nigeria and spread across Africa. My website http://www.funferekoroye.com shows my work in more details. I strongly believe that before I die I have leave inspiration and awe in the minds of the people around me and my career choice is my one true way of doing that.


12.ARE YOU SINGLE?LOL

Well everyone is single if they are not married, trust me I know I am right. Yes I am single, not too long ago I was in a relationship but work got in the way.

13.APART FROM FASHION DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST?

I love to write music, books and poems. I love building and creating, any form of art and design is my passion. I like to blog and generally show the world for its creativity and sometimes its destruction. No joy without pain. I also dabble in a majority of sports from soccer to badminton; I believe good health is good wealth.


14.DO YOU INTEND ON GOING INTO THE CLOTHING INDUSTRY IN FUTURE PERHAPS OWNING YOUR OWN CLOTHING LINE?

Right now I am working on my clothing; my website for the line http://www.fusionkelvar.bigcartel.com is a work in progress. I am working with my partners to get investors to get it off the ground. I hope I don’t disappoint myself and lose momentum.


15.WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE NEXT 10 YEARS?

In ten years, I see an office view with my name on the building. I want to be the man in charge of his own destiny. Funfere will be a name to reckon with in the world of industrialization. I pray my work will be in every shelf, drawer, bathroom and closet space.

16.WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR THOSE WHO LACK DRESS SENSE?LOL

Ok for you guys looking a hot mess (forgive me) just put a simple shirt and jeans (no stupid slogans) please forget how you rep “Naija” or how u are a bad girl if it doesn’t look tasteful. It looks tacky when I have to read a whole story on your shirt. If u stuck type my blog: http://www.funferekoroye.blogspot.com. I always have tips to keep you styling and save you money. Don’t try to look Hollywood in Nigeria because it’s a 100 degrees fool, stop wear fur coats and wool scarves. I see you guys and girls glistening with you bedazzled tops, not a good look if you not a background dancer for Britney spears. Please stop giving Africans a bad name. When people see me they know am not American but at least they don’t think I am oblivious to style. You can be African and still be stylish. In Lagos look up my home boy Adebayo lawal in Lagos, always on point in formal and traditional.


17.IS THERE ANYTHING YOU WONT BE CAUGHT DEAD WITHOUT?

I can’t leave the house without a fresh wrist watch, a fitted shirt, a clean haircut and some out of this world eyewear. From time to time I put on a scarf “Gucci bandana” or two, my rosaries, bracelets and my Louis back pack.


18.IS THERE ANYTHING YOU WONT BE CAUGHT DEAD IN?

I will never be seen in an extra long white tee, baggy three quarters, baggy jeans, grills, hot pants, a man thong, fish net shirt, bell bottoms, a shower cap(sorry snoop), fur coats in the summer, fur boots in the summer and please no jean shirt on jean pants unless you singing country music. If I continue I will start to offend, I know some things aren’t accepted like my skinny jeans or man purse even though the educated term is luggage. Don’t wear anything that makes you look like you need divine intervention; friends please let each other know when you look like a storm in an old lady’s closet. I am not trying to hate of people who don’t work out but don’t wear tops that hug to tight if it is not attractive.

FUNFERE’S STYLE AND DESIGNS.



4 Comments

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by GidiNoize: http://bit.ly/5Lg3DXhttp://fb.me/3efibWF

  2. gidinoize.wordpress.com has become a favorite sunday point for me

  3. […] GYE PRESENTS FUNFERE KENIYE KOROYE.”I AM A DESIGNER BY BIRTH AND … […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

