G.Y.E PRESENTS LANRE ‘JAZZ’ ALUKO-OLOKUN- ”I DISCOVERED MUSIC WAS MY CALLING AT THE TENDER AGE OF 8”

lanre aluko1

Lanre Aluko is an upcoming artiste who has performed around East Midlands with his group Tuxedo Swing.Having realised music was his calling at the tender age of 8,he wrote his first song called BUTTERFLY, ever since then he has written numerous other songs.He is not only a singer and song writter but also a fashion designer.This young University of Loughborough Undergraduate says Heaven is His stepping stone.We at GidiNoize were oppurtuned to have an Interview with the one and only Fashionista, songwritter and singer,Lanre Jazz Aluko.

GidiNoize Interviews Lanre ‘Jazz’ Aluko

1.WE AT GIDINOIZE COULDNT HELP BUT NOTICE UR NAME(JAZZ) .HOW DID IT COME ABOUT?
You should have noticed by now I have a very Raspy singing voice, I am greatly influenced and love to perform Jazz standards so I decided why not call myself Jazz while am on stage , lol you can also say the name just came up lol

2WHO IS JAZZ?
Jazz is one of the triplets Lanré, Jazz and Lorenzo Duffle’Bag , am Jazz when am on stage or doing anything that has 2 do with music Lorenzo Duffle’Bag when am designing do check out http://www.ldbdesigns.blospot.com to have a flavour and Lanré every other day, Jazz I would the Crazy 1 tho😀

3.CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND(EDUCATIONAL,FAMILY)?
Well I come from a family of 8 Dad , Mum and 5 other siblings, I attended primary school in Nigeria , Spain , Belguim and America ( we traveld a lot because my Dad was an ambassador at that point in time) I did my secondary school in Dowen College Lagos, College in UK and currently at uni in Loughborough!

4.WHEN DID YOU REALIZE MUSIC WAS YOUR CALLING?
I realized Music was my calling at the tender age of 8 , i remember my first written song called Butterfly , I must say it was cute and was inspired by the Jacksons very own Janet lol

5.WHAT GENRE ARE YOU INTO AND WHY?
I am into R&B, Gospel and Jazz , R&B because its my avenue to make my emotions into a song through rythm and blues, Gospel because You just gotta show love to God and jazz well because am called Jazz haha

6.HOW DO YOU MANAGE YOUR STUDIES & MUSICAL CAREER TOGETHER?
Its God that strengthens me, it aint easy doing it all at once but its been going great and would be so till I Graduate, I believe its all just knowing what to do and when , infact after this interview am off 2 study then record lol

7.BEING A YOUNG ARTISTE COMES WITH A LOT OF CRITICISM AND DISAPPROVAL ESPECIALLY FROM PARENTS ,HOW DO YOU COPE WITH THAT?
Well My parents support me 100% as long as I bring the prize home, as for other critics I like constructive criticism because it strengthens me, My Mum is one of my best critics she tells me how it is and that is great!

8.WE UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE PERFORMED AT A COUPLE OF SHOWS CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT THEM?
Yes I have performed at a couple of shows, i sing for a Jazz/Swing band called *Tuxedo Swing* and we perform all over the East midlands, Balls, Dinners, Shows e.t.c its one of the most amazing things ever performing musical standars with a large band !!!🙂 once I performed and this girl cried that was blissful

9.WHAT HAS BEEN THE GREATEST MOMENT OF YOUR MUSICAL CAREER?
Getting signed to **Beautiful Music** and when *Wande Coal* gave his seal of Approval on my Music , i mean for a singer so good 2 approve me wow and also

10.OUTSIDE THE MUSIC SCENE WHO IS LANRE?
Lanre is a serious student!

11.ARE YOU SINGLE?LOL
hmmm u interested?

12.APART FROM MUSIC DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST?
Yes I do I design Clothes – here is my clothing labels link http://www.ldbdesigns.blogspot.com/ do check it out🙂 and am also a Fashion Stylist I Give \fashion tips what to wear and what not to wear.

13.DO YOU INTEND GOING INTO MUSIC FULL TIME?
YES SIRRRR!!!!

14.WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE NEXT 10 YEARS?
I see myself at the Grammys up for Album of the year award with the **BEAUTIFUL MUSIC Crew beside me ,David Evans, Puppet Master , sho Fro and future Artiste***, Amen IJN ( it could even be before 10 years you never know)

15.THERE ARE A COUPLE OF ARTISTES IN THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY,WHAT MKES YOU STAND OUT?
What makes me stand out is my Voice, Style and the sound of my Music.

16. GROWING UP,WHO WERE YOUR MUSICAL INFLUENCES?
oh I always try and avoid this question because they are a lot ok the ones popping up on my mind now are , Lauryn Hill, The Jacksons, Madonna, Usher and No Doubt

17. WHAT DO YOU THINK THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY IS LACKING AND CAN FILL THE VOID?
To be Honest NOTHING

18.DO YOU WRITE YOUR OWN SONGS?
Yes I do

19.WHATS THE INSPIRATION BEHIND YOUR SONGS?
Love-Lies-Broken spies (wich is the name of my Promo Cd OUT SOON) ..Love ( from God my parents fans) Lies ( life issues in general) and Broken Spies( Trials in Life i.e. Friends that come and Go)

20. IS THERE AN ALBUM OR MIXTAPE IN THE WORKS AND WHEN CAN WE EXPECT IT TO DROP?
Yes as mentioned above a Promo Cd titled **Love-Lies-Broken Spies**

21. WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER UPCOMING ARTISTES?
If you know youve got it, keep doing your thing if you have doubts re-think it , the Journey is Long I am no where near d end but with God all is well!!!

22.ANY LAST WORDS FOR YOUR FANS?
WE ARE BEAUTIFUL MUSIC
Jazz, David Evans , puppet master
and we shall not dissapoint you I Love Yall!!!

LORENZO DUFFLE BAG DESIGNS


2 Comments

  1. […] G.Y.E PRESENTS LANRE ‘JAZZ’ ALUKO-OLOKUN- ”I DISCOVERED MUSIC WAS MY CALLING AT THE TENDER AGE… gidinoize.wordpress.com/2009/10/19/g-y-e-presents-lanre-jazz-aluko-wande-coal-gave-his-seal-of-approval-on-my-music – view page – cached + New Video With Naeto-c All Around The A Now On GidiNoize http://bit.ly/MV1pe 4 days ago + http://bit.ly/yJXZ5 5 days ago + http://bit.ly/B7c1A 1 week ago + M.I. ABAGA BEATS FELLOW NOMINEES… (Read more)+ New Video With Naeto-c All Around The A Now On GidiNoize http://bit.ly/MV1pe 4 days ago + http://bit.ly/yJXZ5 5 days ago + http://bit.ly/B7c1A 1 week ago + M.I. ABAGA BEATS FELLOW NOMINEES JAY-Z AND LIL WAYNE AS HE WINS BEST HIP-HOP AWARD… http://bit.ly/Hneab 1 week ago * GidiNoize’ Recent Posts + G.Y.E PRESENTS LANRE ‘JAZZ’ ALUKO-OLOKUN- ”I DISCOVERED MUSIC WAS MY CALLING AT THE TENDER AGE OF 8” + P-SQUARE TALKS ABOUT THE ‘LANDLORD BEATING’ ISSUE-WHAT REALLY HAPPENED. + G.Y.E PRESENTS DAVID EVANS-”AT THE MOMENT,I PLAY NINE MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS”. + EXCLUSIVE:-SOYINKA’S AFRO PRESENT KO EASYYYYYYY!!!!! + WHO WON WHAT AT MTV’S MAMA AFRICA MUSIC AWARD. + LIVE UPDATES FROM MTV’S MAMA AFRICA MUSIC AWARDS. + G.Y.E PRESENTS AKITOYE BALOGUN- ‘I’M A TYPICAL NAIJA BOY WITH A TWIST’. + FOOTBALLER, JOSEPH YOBO PROPOSES TO EX-MBGN, ADAEZE IGWE. + LEEDS UNIVERSITY AFRO-CARRIBEAN SOCIETY PRESENT FAHRENHEIT 16-10-09. + MANGO SET TO OPEN STORES IN NIGERIA. + 18 YEAR OLD JOHN OGAH WINS NAIJA SINGS. + G.Y.E PRESENTS AGAMA LABEL. + G.Y.E PRESENTS GREG ENAHORO(BARZ)-”I REALIZED MUSIC WAS MY CALLING AT THE AGE OF 4” + GENEVIEVE’S FIRST INTERVIEW SINCE HER FEATURE ON THE OPRAH WINFREY SHOW. + LIGHT UP NIGERIA ON CNN * SocialVibe (Read less) — From the page […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by GidiNoize: http://bit.ly/10FI6Y. http://bit.ly/HoQo


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

