G.Y.E PRESENTS DAVID EVANS-”AT THE MOMENT,I PLAY NINE MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS”.

DE

Todays feature on G.Y.E is the musical prodigy, David Evans. David Evans plays 9 different musical instruments but it doesnt end there,He is one of the co-founders of Beautiful Music record label , He is a Record Producer,Studio Engineer and Artiste.He has worked with various musicians and produced numerous hits songs.We at GidiNoize were priviledged to have an interview with David Evans.

GidiNoize Interviews David Evans

1.WHO IS DAVID EVANS?

I’m a young musician born in Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria. I moved to the United Kingdom a few years ago to chase my dream as a Record Producer. Eeehhmmm….. This is Me!!!

2.CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND (EDUCATIONAL, FAMILY)?

I’m born to Igbo parents who live in Nigeria, I went through primary and secondary school in Nigeria, where I picked up practical and theoretical music skills which I believe have given me an edge in the today’s industry.

3.WE UNDERSTAND THAT U ARE A SINGER AND PRODUCER, HOW AND WHEN DID U DISCOVER THESE TALENTS?

I can safely say that I’m a record producer due to my massive discography, but singing is something I try out once in a while, thanks to recent advancements in media technology. At the moment, I play nine musical instruments. These skills I gathered over the years, while playing in an Orchestra in Nigeria, and later becoming a session musician in the UK, which involves playing for numerous bands. I have always been a musically inclined person, and my family and friends have always pushed me in this direction since they discovered this, therefore, I believe I owe them for it all.

4.BEING A YOUNG ARTISTE COMES WITH A LOT OF CRITICISM AND DISAPPROVAL ESPECIALLY FROM PARENTS ,HOW DO YOU COPE WITH THAT?

In my case, it’s a very different case. People around me know that this is the only thing I can do well. And is probably the only field where I can be successful, so they encourage me in every manner possible. I come from a family with numerous musicians, so to be excelling in the music industry is something my parents are very proud of, so they refine every bit of my music, offer me advice, and show me much love and support. Infact, I consider my Mum and Dad to be my biggest supporters.

5.HOW DO YOU MANAGE YOUR STUDIES & MUSICAL CAREER TOGETHER?

I am a student of Pop Music Production in a University here in the UK, and everything I do helps me academically and vice versa, so you can rightfully assume that I do nothing else apart from staying on my academic Gingah.

6.WE UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE PRODUCED FOR VARIOUS OTHER ARTISTES, CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT THAT?

Over the years, I have produced numerous artists from diverse works of life and parallel industries. This came as I spent years being part of a media production team called The Priority Club. With their help, I was able get Follow Me Go, which was my debut in UK stores. As that relationship recently came to an end, I co-founded a UK Record Label called “Beautiful Music”, which comprises of Beautiful Music Management and my very own Beautiful Music Recording Studio. At Beautiful Music, we have worked so hard in the past couple of months, and should be making our initial store release before the end of 2009.

7.OUTSIDE THE MUSIC SCENE WHO IS DAVID EVANS?

To be honest, I think the whole music gingah has kinda over-shadowed my private life. Its my full-time job, and I study it. So, I guess outside one music scene, you can still find me in another music scene. Its all I do.

8.ARE YOU SINGLE?LOL AHHHH!!!

Unfortunately, I’m not. LOL sorry mehn!!

9.APART FROM MUSIC DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST?

I have gradually developed an interest in Moving Image Development and Film Making. Hopefully, you should see something commercial pretty soon.

10.WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE NEXT 10 YEARS?

I honest do not know. I’ll leave that to God Almighty to decide. But you can always follow my journey on twitter and see where I end up: http://twitter.com/kingdavidevans

11.THERE ARE A COUPLE OF ARTISTES AND PRODUCERS IN THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY, WHAT MAKES YOU STAND OUT?

My honest opinion is that it is a saturated market now. I work with a lot of UK acts now, but I still try to level my head to the Nigerian music scene. The only thing I believe makes me just a little bit different is that I have a habit of combining cultures which would have never met. It does have its negative effects, but hopefully, one day people will understand why I do it.

12.WHAT DO YOU THINK THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY IS LACKING AND CAN FILL THE VOID?

In my opinion, it’s not lacking anything!!! It’s a growing industry so it is expected to move from strength to strength, and I’m sure you can see this happening daily. Slow and steady wins the race. It will be a bad idea to rush it, and probably introduce something that the Nigerian audience might not like. The Nigerian industry is very beautiful as it is, there is a new artist everyday, and artists drop-out daily. It’s a moving train, and will surely get to its destination. There is no sure thing as teleporting in this work of life.

13.IS THERE AN ALBUM OR MIX TAPE IN THE WORKS AND WHEN CAN WE EXPECT IT TO DROP?

My label actually has 5 Mix tapes and 1 Album all coming between now and January (Unfortunately, none are mine). Mixtapes you can always expect free online and at events, and Albums you can always expect in the regular Music Shops and Digital Stores. Some tracks from these are produced by me, and can be listened to at my MySpace page: http://myspace.com/davidevansmusic

14.ANY LAST WORDS FOR YOUR FANS?

I don’t even know if I have fans oh, but anyhow sha, just incase… all I have to say is “Beautiful Music” (In very deep voice)…ok…. Bye!!!

TO LISTEN TO DAVID EVAN’S SONGS AND PRODUCTIONS VISIT

http://myspace.com/davidevansmusic

1 Comment

  1. beautiful music in deep voice lool
    this is dope


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

