G.Y.E PRESENTS LIZ YEMOJA-”NIGERIA’S OPRAH WINFREY”

LIZ YEMOJA

LIZ YEMOJA

She hosts a show titled the ‘Liz yemoja Show’ which features artists from all genres of the entertainment industry. The style of the show is intimate, informal, relaxed, but informative.She discusses various topics with the artist, giving fans information on their background, work, personality, and other projects they would like to promote to the public,she has interviewed almost all the big names in the Nigerian Entertainment Industry, the likes of Eldee, M.I, Wande coal,Dr SID….To mention a few.We at GidiNoize were privileged to have an interview with the Interviewer herself,Liz Yemoja.

GidiNoize Interviews Liz Yemoja

1. WHO IS LIZ YEMOJA?
Liz Yemoja is my alter-ego….Lol…Do your research and find out the name my mother and father christened me. Like Beyonce has ‘Sasha Fierce’ I am ‘Liz Yemoja’.

2. CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND (EDUCATIONAL, FAMILY)?
I was born in Surulere, Lagos – Nigeria but came to the UK at the age of nine. I have a little brother called David, he is 15 years old. I went to an all girls (horse-riding) boarding school called Hanford in Dorset from the ages of 9 till 12… And then later attended a secondary boarding Sherborne School for girls in Dorset from the ages of 12 till 18. I then went on to Study Classical Civilisation and Literature at the University of Birmingham. I graduated in 2005.

3. WHEN DID YOU DISCOVER YOUR TALENT?
At secondary school, I was in my school’s public speaking team, so I have always had a passion for presenting.

4. ARE YOU INTO ENTERTAINMENT FULL TIME?

I worked as a very successful Recruitment consultant for three and half years in Birmingham after I graduated and in London also. I recruited software engineers into various industries. I decided to focus on entertainment fulltime this year (2009).

5.WE UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE INTERVIEWED A COUPLE OF BIG NAMES IN THE INDUSTRY ON YOUR SHOW, CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT THAT?
Once I stopped working in recruitment, I took up work as a promoter for Cokobar.com, a successful weekly Saturday night run by Ropo Akin and Jide Onabowale. Cokobar.com put together three amazing shows this summer; firstly Basket mouth Comedy show in June, Wande Coal Album Launch in July and D’banj’s Kokoconcert at the indigo2 in August. I worked as the events project manager for these three shows and this gave me the opportunity to interview some artists, and it’s pretty much taken off from there…. Since the shows, I’ve been able to add, M.I, Eddie Kadi, Kojo Comedian, Eldee The Don, Dj Zeez into the portfolio.

6. HOW DO YOU COME UP WITH THE QUESTIONS YOU ASK THOSE YOU INTERVIEW?
I tend to ask the public what questions they would like answered, I ask on my facebook and twitter if anyone has questions. I do a little bit of research on the artist before every interview, obviously I can’t go in without any knowledge whatsoever on the artist. I appreciate every feedback from all my fans and those who watch the show, but I recently read a comment after one of my interviews with Eldee, which said ‘For God’s sake Liz do some research’….I laughed when I read this…because what people fail to realise is sometimes the opportunity for an interview comes very randomly…I can get a call at 2pm telling me, an artist is available at 4pm for an interview so it leaves me with very little time to research, get myself ready and transport myself to the interview location. And unfortunately I do not yet have the capabilities of the BBC where a researcher can send me details to my Blackberry! Lol, sometimes I do call my friends to email latest gist/info though, and I read up on the artist during the journey there.

7.WHAT HAS BEEN THE GREATEST MOMENT OF YOUR ENTERTAINMENT CAREER?

I don’t think I’ve been doing it long enough to answer this, you know…ask me again in a year’s time! Lol…It’s pretty hard work getting all these interviews done…but I’m so grateful to God for the experience, so I guess every moment has been one I’m thankful for.

8. WHAT IS YOUR VISION FOR THE LIZ YEMOJA SHOWS?
I’d like to see The Liz Yemoja Show get on TV, a weekly show, that’s what I’m currently working towards….So anyone who is a ‘Somebody’ reading this and is interested in sponsoring the show, please feel free to get in touch….As we all know we’re in a recession right about now in the Uk, so I accept, Euro’s, Dollar’s and Naira! Eventually though maybe The Liz Yemoja show will become a talk show style programme…however, I’m focusing on establishing the show right now. It’s a very exciting time for me.

9. OUTSIDE THE ENTERTAINMENT SCENE WHO IS LIZ YEMOJA?
Confident, assertive, very Bubbly, I do love myself a bit, but I would like to think I’m not annoying with it…lol, I used to be called ‘Loud’ but these days with age I’ve calmed down. I’m definitely not cool, calm or collected…I’m spontaneous, and quite adventurous….I’ll try anything once though 🙂

10.GROWING UP, WHO WERE YOUR INFLUENCES?

Oprah Winfrey, Liz Benson (Naija Actress – lol), Beyonce (during her Destiny’s Child days, I think I was their biggest fan, I knew all the lyrics to Writings on the Wall)

12.ARE YOU SINGLE/IS THERE ANY SPECIAL MAN/WOMAN IN YOUR LIFE?
I am in a very happy relationship with a wonderful, amazing, talented man who completes me.

13. WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR MOST EMBARRASING MOMENT ON THE SHOW?
Probably, when I was interviewing M.I and at the end of the interview after I did the, ‘Thank you for watching The Liz Yemoja Show….blah blah blah’ the cameras were still rolling, we were in his sitting room at the hotel suite and he started interviewing me! He was like…now your turn, what’s your real name…and he rambled off all these questions…It wasn’t so much embarrassing but I guess I was caught unaware…and there were lots of people in the room; other interviewers waiting their turn, M.I’s management and entourage…I just giggled like a kid nervously….

14. WHICH OTHER TV SHOWS & ANCHORS DO YOU ADMIRE AND WHY?
Oprah, Tyra – The women on these shows inspire me….Oprah especially, she is a successful entrepreneur, She encourages a Goal-Oriented Focus: ‘You become what you believe’, says Oprah. Last year, before I started the show, I remember this note going round on facebook, ’25 things about me’ – I wrote on there that I would love to be Nigeria’s equivalent of Oprah Winfrey one day……and of course I still have a long way to go…but I feel you have to start from somewhere….and baby steps lead to giant steps….Oprah’s unwavering belief in her abilities is what drove her to focus all of her life’s energy on reaching her objectives, and I admire and wish to emulate that.

15. THERE ARE A COUPLE OF NIGERIAN TV SHOWS WHAT GIVES YOUR SHOW THE UPPER HAND?
The style of the show is intimate, informal, relaxed, but informative. But mainly the difference between my show and others is that I’m based in the UK and I’m interviewing Nigerian based artists, but I’m not limited to that. All the Nigerian artists featured so far have come all the way from Nigeria for the interviews; and when I go to Lagos I will be interviewing the artists as a Uk based presenter for my UK fans and also those all over the world. The show is entirely self-funded, hence the need for sponsorship and for it to get on Television, but I think because I’m funding it all, it makes me more passionate. I also believe it’s the personal touch that sets The Liz Yemoja Show apart. I’m not at an awards ceremony doing these interviews, I’m not in a studio room with studio audience, and I often do these interviews at various locations around London but always in a relaxed atmosphere.

16. WHAT DO YOU THINK THE NIGERIAN ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY IS LACKING AND CAN FILL THE VOID?
If anything I don’t think people are working with each other enough in the entertainment industry….it’s a dog eat dog out here and it seems everyman has his or her sole interest at heart. People in the industry are sometimes too selfish and I don’t see enough ‘Team work’. Although the saying goes, if you want something done properly do it yourself…I firmly believe in the phrase ‘Two heads are better than one’ and I just think (without sounding too corny) people just need to show each other more Love. People often think once I’ve made it, that’s me sorted….what’s my own with other people, I’m gone and they don’t tend to look back and bring other people forward with them. I believe thats a Naija trait. Other Nationalities tend to encourage each other more, and acknowledge eachother’s successes, I just think we Nigerians need to be more positive to eachother.

17. ARE THERE ANY NEW INNOVATIONS THAT ARE EITHER JUST GONNA BE INTRODUCED TO THE LIZ YEMOJA SHOW OR THAT WERE JUST RECENTLY INTRODUCED? (CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT THEM)?
Well we’ve got the main show itself which features artists, we’ve got the ‘ABOUT TO BLOW’ section, and I’ve also got a ‘JOURNEY TO SUCCESS’ section where I will feature successful entrepreneur’s. I have not yet featured someone on this section, seems there are too many to choose from! Giggles* But I’d like to kick this section off with a bang in the near future!

18. WHAT ARTISTES SHOULD WE BE EXPECTIONG IN THE FUTURE ON YOUR SHOW?
I’m off to Lagos in the next few weeks so it’s exciting times for The Liz Yemoja Show…keep tuned! I’ve got the likes of Sauce-Kid, Olu Maintain, Banky W, Deebee Collabo, Rita from Kokomansion, Shona, Rekena, and possibly Shina Peters, who I think is a living legend…so lots more to come!

19. WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER UPCOMING SHOW ANCHORS LIKE YOUR SELF?

Although I went to boarding school, my dad used to come to England during the holidays, we lived in Hampstead then and used to go to Victory, a massive church on Finchley road. Although I was eleven, this sermon still sticks in my memory till today…The pastor said ‘If the Dream is big enough; the Facts don’t count’….That’s been my personal motto since then, also Reverend Run from runs house once said…’If you take short cuts; you get cut short’…so it’s all about perseverance…hard work pays, so keep going at it!

20. ANY LAST WORDS FOR YOUR FANS?
Thanks so much for your support, without you there wouldn’t be me ….Remember: The cameras may STOP…but the Artists will keep rolling in……*About to Blow and *The Already Exploded *Journey to Success – It’s all about LIZ YEMOJA SHOW. Thanks Guys

The Liz Yemoja Show
http://www.youtube.com/user/thelizyemojashow

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

