G.Y.E PRESENTS TAMARAKORO-”I STARTED WRITING IN JSS2 & EVER SINCE THEN IT’S BEEN A JOURNEY OF A MILLION MILES THAT BEGAN WITH ONE STROKE OF A PEN”.

TamaraKoro Ogedegbe

Born in Nigeria, TamaraKoro (pronounced Tah-mah-rah-kor and meaning Power of God) practices the art of lyricism accompanied by a stylistically diverse flow that separates him from the rest of the pack.Born Tamarakoro Samuel Tabunor Ogedegbe, though based in the US, TamaraKoro is never ashamed to let his African roots shine in the message behind his songs or in his ‘breath of fresh air’ vocals.We at GidiNoize were proviledged to have a word with this talented young man.

GidiNoize Interviews TamaraKoro

1.WHO IS TAM?

Tam is Tamarakoro Ogedegbe, Nigerian born and Nigerian raised (I’m not half cast).
I grew up in Lagos but I am originally from Warri, Delta State and I am Ijaw ethnically.
My name means Power of God and was graciously bestowed upon me by my grandfather.

2. CAN YOU TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR BACKGROUND (EDUCATIONAL, FAMILY)?

I grew up in a hardworking home and my parents are still married, I went to R.I.S
(Redeemer’s International School) for primary education and Whitesands/Grange for

secondary schooling. I am currently a Marketing Major at Virginia Tech in the US.

3. WHEN DID YOU REALIZE MUSIC WAS YOUR CALLING?

There was no “moment” or epiphany it was just the music that I grew up listening to
and developed a sincere but severe passion for. I started writing in Jss2 (I believe) and ever

since then it’s been a journey of a million miles that began with one stroke of a pen.

4. WHAT GENRE ARE YOU INTO AND WHY?

Rap. For the simple fact that I love to use and manipulate words when expressing
myself and rapping incorporates rhythm which we as Africans are known to have a

‘thing’ for. I listened to artists in the genre that made me want to ‘spit’
better than they were at that point in time with reason and purpose adding

more value.

5. HOW DO YOU MANAGE YOUR STUDIES & MUSICAL CAREER TOGETHER?

I have to see myself as a juggler, this puts me in the frame of mind whereby I have
to tackle more than 1 thing and keep the rhythm flowing without dropping the ball.

The sadness and the economical demolition of various social infrastructures and
corporations lets me know that if we are going to have anything in this world we
have to go out and get it and stop waiting to be spoon fed, so that thought alone
helps recharge my focus when its dwindling.

6. BEING A YOUNG ARTISTE COMES WITH A LOT OF CRITICISM AND DISAPPROVAL ESPECIALLY FROM PARENTS, HOW DO YOU COPE WITH THAT?

I thank God for giving me supporting and understanding parents. They have allowed
me to blossom and to grow without any hindrance or condemnation but they never fail

to remind me of priorities and things that matter the most in this life. So in this case I’m

coping real well because they hardly give me any problems regarding my music.

7. WE UNDERSTAND THAT YOU HAVE PERFORMED AT A COUPLE OF SHOWS CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT THEM?

I did a performance in Atlanta, GA at a fashion show called Runway Madness. It was a showcase of
African talent in the entertainment and fashion industry. The second show I did was at the Vinyl House

in Virginia for Valentine’s eve. Both shows were experiences I enjoyed, I just went out there and

showed the world where I stand as an artist and the people received me very well and gave me good

feedback. As an artist who is just starting up and building buzz this to me cannot be more key because

it is a morale booster to know that people outside your immediate network of friends can appreciate what

you are doing.

8. WHAT HAS BEEN THE GREATEST MOMENT OF YOUR MUSICAL CAREER?

I cannot say there is a greatest because every time I get a new idea for a song, beat or style of lyricism
I feel I’m going higher and higher, so therefore I keep prospecting great things so there are a lot of moments.

9. OUTSIDE THE MUSIC SCENE WHO IS TAM?

Tam is a student of life and a lover of God (Father, Son, Holy Ghost) and life in general. I try to know a little bit about everything around me and I analyse all
things I perceive. I try to strike a balance between the spiritual and physical, work and leisure, and all things I am

involved in at any given point in time. I love to party and hang out with friends in order to have a good time. Plus I love the
girls, ladies and women in and that are about to be in my life!!!!

10. ARE YOU SINGLE? LOL

For now I am

11.APART FROM MUSIC DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST?

Planet Earth

12.DO YOU INTEND ON GOING INTO MUSIC FULL TIME?

Yes without an iota of a doubt

13. WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN THE NEXT 10 YEARS?

I see myself on the global stage adding value to people’s lives in a positive way, producing quality music
that would make a formidable impact on my generation and above all enlighten the masses.

14. THERE ARE A COUPLE OF YOUNG ARTISTES IN THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY, WHAT MAKES YOU STAND OUT?

I possess a global appeal and the goals I have to accomplish are bigger than me. I see my music as
a forum of expression whereby I can share with people who I am, what I think of the world around me and

how each of us have business on this planet to handle. I produce beats, rap my lyrics and mix my songs.
I believe I stand for the new age artist who is independent and versatile with depth of knowledge and skill,
focused on a vision and is constantly getting bigger and better.

15. GROWING UP, WHO WERE YOUR MUSICAL INFLUENCES?

Bob Marley, Fela Kuti, Rakim, Nas, Biggie, 2pac just to name the key ones.

16. WHAT DO YOU THINK THE NIGERIAN MUSIC INDUSTRY IS LACKING AND CAN FILL THE VOID?

The Nigerian Music Industry lacks solid infrastructure that can support artists and promote
creativity with wider streams of revenue. We need publishing companies that would make sure

artists get their monies and necessary royalties, copyright offices that would protect the intellectual works of artists.

We need to develop our internet efficiency because this is where the future of music in this world lies, so I believe we

need to beef up our e-capacity in that respect. And above all, a leader who can set a standard with/for the music industry
and also lead the way into the future.

17. DO YOU WRITE YOUR OWN RAPS/SONGS?

Yes I do

18. WHATS THE INSPIRATION BEHIND YOUR SONGS?

Entertainment and Enlightenment

19. IS THERE AN ALBUM OR MIXTAPE IN THE WORKS AND WHEN CAN WE EXPECT IT TO DROP?

I am currently working on a mix tape series called Chop Mic Specials and the first is Tear Rubber, it should be
dropping before summer.

20. WHAT ADVICE DO YOU HAVE FOR OTHER UPCOMING ARTISTES?

Patience, purpose and practice.

21. ANY LAST WORDS FOR YOUR FANS?

I am here today, will be here tomorrow and a very long time after that (God willing) so keep your eyes and
ears on me.

Click Here to listen to TamaKoro’s music

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers